Reviews

CHECK AVAILABILITY

Relaxing break - Rating 5/5

Sun Inn is just what we expected ... welcoming, homely, excellent beer and meals, superb breakfast and plenty of it. Our room was very nice (huge 4 poster bed) and a modernised bathroom. Hawkshead is a lovely Lakeland village serviced by great local walks, outdoors and craft shops, cafes and 4 pubs. Give it a try !!!

Reviewer:Andy & Sharon R | Fri 15th Mar 2019 | 6 months ago


Break - Rating 4/5

Lovely break, very friendly and helpful staff and excellent food. Thanks

Reviewer:A | Thu 14th Mar 2019 | 6 months ago


Excellent - Rating 4/5

Exceeded my expectations, beside being a Gin fan, the restaurant meal was excellent, far better than several meals whilst out and about this year

Reviewer:Derek M | Mon 11th Mar 2019 | 6 months ago


Lovely break - Rating 5/5

2 nights inHawkshead staying here. Staff, rooms , food, great deal. Worth every penny. Central to everything an beautifull walks. So peaceful out of season. Can’t fault it in anyway. 20/10

Reviewer:R | Fri 8th Mar 2019 | 6 months ago


Wonder room very friendly- Rating 5/5

Very enjoyably stay room was beautiful and cosy. Friendly staff, breakfast was lovely.Evening meal was excellent best in the village.

Reviewer:janette p | Thu 7th Mar 2019 | 6 months ago


Faultless stay - Rating 5/5

The one night we stayed was faultless, we enjoyed a few drinks and a very nice evening meal, and a good breakfast before leaving. The manager and staff were friendly and helpful, we would certainly return.

Reviewer:laurie g | Tue 26th Feb 2019 | 6 months ago


February Stay - Rating 4/5

The Sun Inn offers good real ale, a wide selection of Gin, excellent food and friendly staff. For a stay in Hawkshead you can't go wrong.

Reviewer:R | Tue 26th Feb 2019 | 6 months ago


Two day stay - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay,the hotel is in a prime position with free parking.Good clean room with a good view from rhe window behind our bed.Staff very welcoming and food was great.Will return soon

Reviewer:W | Thu 21st Feb 2019 | 7 months ago


Short Break 4 nights - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant stay as always. Thank you for helping with booking arrangements. I will be staying again.

Reviewer:Lorraine L | Sun 10th Feb 2019 | 7 months ago


Fabulous- Rating 5/5

Lovely, cosy room with great facilities. Breakfast was lovely and we had an evening meal there on our first night - it was really good quality. Hosts were very friendly and helpful and the location in the centre of the village was great. The parking permit for the main carpark was really useful.

Reviewer:Alex E | Sat 9th Feb 2019 | 7 months ago


Wonderful winter break - Rating 5/5

We had a very comfortable stay at the Sun Inn during a snowy period in January.The open fire and warm bedrooms were very welcoming. The Sun has bags of atmosphere and all the staff are friendly and do a great job. To top it all the place has a great chef. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Reviewer:M | Tue 5th Feb 2019 | 7 months ago


The Sun Inn Hawkshead - Rating 5/5

Very friendly staff, beautiful location, rooms are nice, bed is comfortable,the food can only be described as exceptional and exquisite.The combination of excellent food ind nice surroundings, log fire in winter, served by friendly staff is a winner every time.Highly Recommended.

Reviewer:Derek T | Sat 2nd Feb 2019 | 7 months ago


Woucher Deal - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay of 2 nights, the accommodation was very clean and comfortable apart from the low beams in room 7.The food both breakfast and evening meal was very good. The staff were very helpful and attentive. Will certainly stay again

Reviewer:john w | Wed 30th Jan 2019 | 7 months ago


Wonderful place! - Rating 5/5

We truly enjoyed our stay at The Sun Inn. Our room was lovely - really quaint and comfortable and spotlessly clean. The space is utilised really well, with a bright make up light above the mirror and a full length mirror hidden away in the wardrobe - amust for us females!The staff are really friendly and all seem very happy in their work, which makes for brilliant service.We ate here on our first evening in Hawkshead and had a fabulous meal. my partner had lamb and I had venison, both were cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. I would highly recommend The Sun Inn to anybody who is spending time in Hawkshead.

Reviewer:R | Wed 30th Jan 2019 | 7 months ago


Birthday getaway- Rating 4/5

Friendly &professional staff, really good food &wine.Fantastic value.Great real ale &had a lovely stay.

Reviewer:David & Sue b | Wed 30th Jan 2019 | 7 months ago


Birthday getaway- Rating 4/5

Friendly &professional staff, really good food &wine.Fantastic value.Great real ale &had a lovely stay.

Reviewer:David & Sue b | Wed 30th Jan 2019 | 7 months ago


Fantastic 2 night break - Rating 5/5

Just returned from spending 2 nights in this lovely Inn.From the beginning the manager was very accomdating and we found all of the staff extremely helpful and friendly.We stayed in room 2 with a four poster bed which was really lovely and comfortable .You can hear a little bit noise from the plumbing and the bar downstairs but that didn't bother us in the slightest and it's an old building so it's to be expected .We ate here both nights and can honestly say the food is exceptional and would recommend booking a table to avoid dissapointment. The breakfast choice is also very good ,We both opted for full English both mornings and were really pleased with the service and quality of the food .Please don't listen to negative reviews ,We couldn't fault anything at all during our stay .would highly recommend and would definitely return as it's in an ideal position to explore both the village and the surrounding area and the lovely staff and food really made our

Reviewer:Julie H | Tue 29th Jan 2019 | 7 months ago


business stay 3 adults. - Rating 4/5

Great hotel.very friendly and the food was superb. best breakfast presentation that me and my men staying have ever had. Regards.Lawrence at Stormguard Floodplan Ltd.

Reviewer:lawrence c | Sat 26th Jan 2019 | 7 months ago


Can’t wait to come bk - Rating 5/5

Fantastic ! Great service, the team could not be more helpful. Food really good as ever but the sea food worth a special mention as it was unreal.Thanks and see you again soon.

Reviewer:n | Fri 25th Jan 2019 | 8 months ago


Lakeland Pub with cosy rooms - Rating 4/5

Our only gripe with an otherwise very pleasant stay was the noise from customers still in the bar at 1:25am on Saturday morning. We were told it wasn't busy enough in January for the usual Friday night entertainment but it sounded pretty busy to me.

Reviewer:Greg W | Mon 21st Jan 2019 | 8 months ago


Midweek escape - Rating 5/5

Hawkhead is delightful and the Sun Inn is a great representative of it's Lakeland charm.The fayre on offer was expansive. The staff and management were helpful and friendly. What more could you hope for?

Reviewer:Mr D | Mon 21st Jan 2019 | 8 months ago


Great stay at the Sun Inn - Rating 5/5

Smooth check in. On arrival you are given a parking permit for the near by parking.Room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was delicious.We also ate in the evening and glad we did as the meal was very tasty.The staff are so friendly. They totally made us feel so welcome at the Sun Inn, thanks again guys.Would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:W | Sun 20th Jan 2019 | 8 months ago


Our stay at Sun Inn - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable stay. Room great with 4 poster bed. Was upgraded on arrival - an unexpected surprise. Evening meal we had was excellent as were the breakfasts we had. Would recommend staying at the Sun Inn which is in a really picturesque village.

Reviewer:M | Sat 19th Jan 2019 | 8 months ago


Winter stay - Rating 4/5

We were warmly welcomed on arrival and the staff were friendly and helpful throughout our two day stay.

Reviewer:S | Thu 17th Jan 2019 | 8 months ago


Great two day break !- Rating 4/5

Very good value, wonderful breakfast. Only problem was size of bed, we're used to a king sized not a standard.

Reviewer:Margaret M | Sat 5th Jan 2019 | 8 months ago


Sun Inn Hawkshead - Rating 4/5

Spent a pleasant couple of days in Hawkshead.Room in the roof spacewas rather compactand an interesting shape for anyone of average height.Internet and hot water struggle to have a presence on top floor but staff were very helpful and attentive in all requests for assistance. Breakfast was fine and the village is perfect if you want quiet enjoyment with plent6 of quality walks directly from hotel ...........and there are four pubs withineasy reach on foot .

Reviewer:Andrew B | Sun 9th Dec 2018 | 9 months ago


Friendly Inn - Rating 4/5

Very welcoming at reception and throughout our visit. Excellent food though limited choice of main courses at dinner. Breakfast food and service excellent though poor choice of cereals - no muesli or fibre cereals. Bedroom facilities very good though very limited headroom in half the room. Overall we enjoyed ourselves very much. Thank you 😀

Reviewer:David S | Sat 1st Dec 2018 | 9 months ago


Great stay Great food - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 2 nights and were made very welcome. Room was small and cosy but clean and with a modern en suite. We took a special offer deal for 2 night stay and it was fantastic value for money. The food was particularly good with great service in the restaurant. We will return!

Reviewer:Susan M | Fri 30th Nov 2018 | 9 months ago


Brilliant! - Rating 5/5

Great breakCosy bar and bedroomsFabulous food served by friendly staffWill return

Reviewer:Gill B | Mon 26th Nov 2018 | 10 months ago


Great Weekend - Rating 5/5

We have just spent a the weekend at the Sun Inn, The staff are great,and were really attentive in the restaurant and bar. The standard of the food was excellent, mustbe the best place to eat in Hawkshead. Will definitely stay again soon. Great live music on the Friday Evening too,one minor drawback , we stayed in room 7 situated at the top of the building and found it very very restrictive due to a very very low slopping ceiling,so if your anything over 6 foot your going to be banging your head a lot.But apart from that one minor gripe 5 stars all the wayMike T

Reviewer:T | Mon 19th Nov 2018 | 10 months ago


Brest place to stay in Hawshead - Rating 5/5

We have just spent a the weekend at the Sun Inn, The staff are great,and were really attentive in the restaurant and bar. The standard of the food was excellent, mustbe the best place to eat in Hawkshead. Will definitely stay again soon. Great live music on the Friday Evening too,one minor drawback , we stayed in room 7 situated at the top of the building and found it very very restrictive due to a very very low slopping ceiling,so if your anything over 6 foot your going to be banging your head a lot.But apart from that one minor gripe 5 stars all the wayMike T

Reviewer:T | Mon 19th Nov 2018 | 10 months ago


comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

all excellent, staff catering and accomodation

Reviewer:Dr P D S | Mon 19th Nov 2018 | 10 months ago


comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

all excellent, staff catering and accomodation

Reviewer:Dr P D S | Mon 19th Nov 2018 | 10 months ago


Three- Rating 4/5

Staff friendly and helpful, food absolutely wonderful, our compliments to the chef. Not so much attention paid to cleaning the stair carpet or the banisters, first impression of resident area was a jumble of cardiganson the umbrella stand. Food definitely ***** Very central

Reviewer:Patricia B | Mon 19th Nov 2018 | 10 months ago


Excellent as Ever! - Rating 5/5

Can't get enough of this place and have made many a return trip. The rooms are comfortable and spotless (the four poster bed is amazing) the food is second to none - definitely the best in the village and the assortment of gins is very impressive

Reviewer:Helen G | Sat 17th Nov 2018 | 10 months ago


2 days in November- Rating 4/5

Clean comfortable rooms..... attic rooms are quite small and difficult to negotiate round..... great breakfast

Reviewer:Liam W | Fri 16th Nov 2018 | 10 months ago


Little Gem- Rating 5/5

Was recommended this hotel by sister who has visited several times , we were made to feel welcome from the on start . Our room was lovely warm and cosy a huge comfortable bed . The bar area again was friendly cosy with a huge stock of hand crafted beers I was amazed at the selection of Gins and the knowledge of bar staff to which mixers to compliment each different type. The food in the restaurant was amazing and also the breakfast in the morning I also would recommend this place and will be definitely returning .

Reviewer:Jackie M | Wed 14th Nov 2018 | 10 months ago


Thoroughly enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

Thanks to everyone there for a superb long weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. You get back what you give out!!! See you again. Have fun!

Response

Hello Mr Wyatt,I am so pleased you all enjoyed your stay so much!You were all such a nice group to have stay with us.Like I said take a look at our website for up and coming deals and offers.We look forward to welcoming you all back soon!!Kind regardsGabriella PickeringReservations manager

Reviewer:Mr W | Tue 13th Nov 2018 | 10 months ago


Group satisfaction- Rating 5/5

Had a fab couple days again at this welcoming inn. Good beer and great food. Breakfast is lovely and rooms are quaint and comfy. Will be coming yet again in the new year.

Reviewer:Wendy B | Wed 7th Nov 2018 | 10 months ago


Overnight- Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our stay in tha Sun Inn. Very good evening meal in front of log fire and tasty breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Great location.

Reviewer:Caroline I | Wed 7th Nov 2018 | 10 months ago


Jeff & Elaine ... Bonfire Weekend - Rating 5/5

Fab room, fab food, fab service and guess what ... fab breakfast. Can't wait to visit again

Reviewer:Jeff D | Mon 5th Nov 2018 | 10 months ago


Short break - Rating 4/5

Ideal location in centre village with included car parking nearby. Friendly staff and good food. Many walks from village and we walked to Coniston via Tarn Hows. The 505 bus from Coniston runs regularly if you dont want to walk back. Only stayed two days but well worth a longer stay.Geoff &Jen

Reviewer:Geoffrey C | Wed 31st Oct 2018 | 10 months ago


Sun Inn- Rating 4/5

Excellent all round - lovely location, lovely room, lovely food and very pleasant and helpful staff.Will definitely return

Reviewer:Gillian M | Tue 23rd Oct 2018 | 11 months ago


another great night- Rating 5/5

thanks to all at the sun in for another great nightand the best breakfast in Cumbria

Reviewer:brendan c | Mon 22nd Oct 2018 | 11 months ago


Excellent service - Rating 5/5

Our two nights at the Sun Inn were excellent. Good food, comfortable room and bed and a high standard of service. The staff could not have been more helpful, especially as I have mobility problems.

Reviewer:Garry B | Sun 21st Oct 2018 | 11 months ago


A big thank you to all the team - Rating 5/5

Great location and great staff. Stayed a couple of nights. Food was excellent. Also.

Reviewer:A | Mon 15th Oct 2018 | 11 months ago


Hawskhead in The Sun - Rating 4/5

We had a truly relaxing three nights in The Sun Inn. The staff could not have been more friendly and the service was excellent. We had two evening meals, the food was worthy of the awarded rosettes. Our room was small but immaculate, the only negative was a very noisy toilet! Hawskead Village is charming with some interesting independent shops along with the usual outdoor clothing stores. Busy during the day but wonderfully quiet at night. Perfect for switching off for a couple of days.I’m sure we will be back.

Reviewer:S | Thu 11th Oct 2018 | 11 months ago


Nice and quiet - Rating 5/5

clean and perfect location. Nice and quiet for the lakes and staff are great. Breakfast was also great

Reviewer:Ian S | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 12 months ago


Friendly place - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for an evening with my grandchildren, very friendly and helpful staff and would definitely recommend the bacon sandwich for breakfast.

Reviewer:H | Wed 19th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Old Man of Coniston 2018 - Rating 5/5

Excellent location and accommodation supported by friendly and helpful staff.And compliments to the chef - the food is lovely.

Reviewer:Brian C | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


sun inn - Rating 4/5

very nice friendly staff, room was nice and clean. good breakfast ! Pity we could stay for dinner as the dining room was full.

Reviewer:Michael H | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

lovely stay,excellent staff,food &location in hawkshead. Had a great time. Thank you

Reviewer:David B | Sun 16th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Biker from Belgium - Rating 4/5

I very much enjoyed my stay at the Sun Inn. For a week a friend and I explored the Lake District by bike and chose the Sun Inn as our starting point. I especially liked the friendliness of the staff and the flexibility of the management. Every question was answered and every request granted. Food is very good and if you like Gin you're at the right place :-)

Reviewer:Andreas G | Sat 15th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Had a lovely two night stay at the sun inn . Traditional coaching inn . Rooms clean and beds comfortable . Food in restaurant excellent and great breakfast . Friendly staff .

Reviewer:B | Sat 25th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Gem - Rating 4/5

Great food, well presented if from a slightly limited menu.Friendly staff, clean rooms, nice feel to the bar area, live music on Fridays.Man City pub but don't let that put you off! Charming village - ideal base for exploring the area. Easy walking for the kids but with great views of the higher fells to whet their appetites for the future.The property is as you would expect olde world but in good condition.Expect lots of wood, low ceilings and great memories.

Reviewer:Graham W | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Sun inn- Rating 4/5

Great rooms excellent staff and service

Reviewer:Gareth m | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Sunn inn - Rating 5/5

Great rooms excellent staff and service

Reviewer:Gareth m | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Sunn inn - Rating 5/5

Great rooms excellent staff and service

Reviewer:Gareth m | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Great place - Rating 5/5

Great rooms excellent staff and service

Reviewer:Gareth m | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Staff very helpful,food excellent, rooms clean tidy and very atmospheric with real beams. If you are not sure footed watch the stairs and unevenness. As building is old. Funny but effective loos. Id go back anytime. Lovely place. Thank you.

Reviewer:Lesley B | Sat 21st Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful couple of nights here, great room, food and atmosphere. I have stayed here many time and I will return.A home from home.

Reviewer:Michael c | Tue 17th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Nothing was too much trouble - excellent staff, food great comfy beds - couldn't fault it.Will definitely be back

Reviewer:Janet T | Tue 10th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Great hotel - Rating 5/5

The hotel is lovely, the location is fantastic and the staff are friendly and helpful.

Reviewer:Colin M | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent Location - Rating 4/5

Great location, we had the four poster room (2) think a little expensive for the size of the room.

Reviewer:Paul W | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


EXCELLENT STAY - Rating 5/5

EXCELLENT FOOD,ACCOMODATION AND SERVICE. BREAKFAST WAS ESPECIALLY GOOD. STAFF WERE VERYACCOMODATING AND PLEASANT.

Reviewer:steve P | Wed 4th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Happy days! - Rating 5/5

Stayed here with our grandchildren in the family room and it was great. We have no complaints about anything. Very clean and thefood was very good and the staff excellent and I would recommend it to anyone.

Reviewer:Isobel A | Thu 7th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Weekend Break- Rating 4/5

Excellent staff,welcoming and very friendly. Room 6 very good. Food in lovely restaurant was very good. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Anthony H | Sun 27th May 2018 | 1 year ago


good value break - Rating 5/5

had two night break here through travelzoo and it was a most enjoyable stay in this Lakeland Inn.We were in the four poster bed room which did attract a small supplement and provided an unusual setFriendly and welcomingting very rustic..The breakfast was first class and the serving of it first class..nice to see staff who enjoy their work and know the routines..The evening dinner taken in the restaurant is recommended

Response

Thank you for your lovely review! I will pass on your kind comments to all staff and chefs. We hope to welcome you back soon and look out on our social media pages/ website for up and coming offers!

Reviewer:D | Sat 26th May 2018 | 1 year ago


A thoroughly enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome, a cosy comfortable room and good food. Full of character and in a wonderful location we were well impressed and look forward to our next visit

Reviewer:Jacquline D | Fri 25th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Nice stay - Rating 4/5

We stopped 1 night at the Sun Inn in Hawkswood. Rooms a bit small and uneven floors but it is 17th Century. Shower pressure fine and bed fairly firm. Staff were very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was good. Quiet very pretty village.

Reviewer:Madeline K | Wed 16th May 2018 | 1 year ago


The Sun Inn - Rating 5/5

With our re-visit to the area we had booked into 'The Sun Inn' several weeks ago for a few days stay.what a lovely little village pub this is with superb food and lovely staff.definitely a visit if you get the chance.we cant wait to come back.Thank you to all staff at 'The Sun Inn' we were made very welcome. Thank you.

Reviewer:James D | Wed 16th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Short Break - Rating 5/5

Overall an enjoyable stay, friendly/ helpful staff, food was very good, accommodation fine. Would I recommend 'yes', would go back 'yes'.

Reviewer:Desmond R | Thu 10th May 2018 | 1 year ago


One of our favourite places - Rating 5/5

The Sun Inn is one of our favourite places to stay in the lakes.The rooms are very comfortable, breakfast is fantastic &evening meals are amazing &very good value.The only thing I would possibly ask for is a fan in each room to make it more comfortable when the weather is warm

Reviewer:L T | Mon 30th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


The sun - Rating 4/5

Lovely room and very friendly staff

Reviewer:R | Mon 30th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Memories - Rating 4/5

We stayed over 10 years ago and came to get away from the teenager.The experiance was very pleasant and the food especially breakfast was fantastic.We will return soon..

Reviewer:sarah m | Sun 29th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Birthday stay - Rating 5/5

A very pleasant welcome on arrival and a friendly ness that lasted for the there days we stayed with you. Would recommend the Sun Inn to friends. Food good and plentiful, real ale enjoyable. Thanks for a very nice time.

Reviewer:David W | Wed 25th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


2 night stay - Rating 5/5

Amazing time at the sun inn as always. Lovely rooms and fantastic full breakfast. Sunday roast at its best as well

Reviewer:Gareth B | Wed 25th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Sun inn - Rating 4/5

Lovely pub friendly staff other guests not very considerate regarding noise.

Response

Hello Mr Newton,Thank you for taking your time to leave a review about our inn. I am very sorry to read that any other guests may of spoilt your stay. I do hope that this will not put you off coming to visit us again.Take careSun Inn

Reviewer:Chris N | Wed 18th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Sun inn - Rating 4/5

Lovely pub friendly staff other guests not very considerate regarding noise.

Reviewer:Chris N | Wed 18th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Brilliant Stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely room great food,beautifull village.

Reviewer:Mrs B | Fri 30th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


very friendly staff, comfortable rooms food excellent - Rating 4/5

This is the second stay for us, rooms adequate and comfortable. The staff put in long hours and always friendly, helpful and polite. Very good breakfast and food generally, however, not all dietary needs catered for.

Reviewer:Quegan u | Wed 28th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Lovely place to say. Beautiful food and friendly staff.

Reviewer:L | Wed 28th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Very comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our very comfortable stay. The room was very clean, the breakfasts excellent &the staff were very friendly &helpful. We would stay again &recommend the Sun Inn to other travellers

Reviewer:Ian G | Sun 25th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Very enjoyable stay - Rating 4/5

Lovely cosy traditional Inn.The food and service is excellent. Breakfast is first class,all freshly and perfectly cooked to order and served hot to the table. No buffet service here.A good selection of ales at the bar.Our room was small with not a lot of head room due to some low beams but nicely decorated.Good ensuite shower room. Very comfy bed;both slept really well.

Reviewer:Sheila L | Sat 24th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Brilliant- Rating 5/5

Fantastic B&B , lovely friendly staff , room adequate, five star breakfast, and evening meal to die for ,excellent value for your money

Response

Thank you for your lovely review! We hope to welcome you back soon and we hope you enjoyed spending your wedding anniversary with us!

Reviewer:Eamon F | Fri 23rd Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


very enjoyable visit - Rating 4/5

We spent a very enjoyable night at the Sun Inn.The room was lovely,and the beds very comfortable.The breakfast was amazing and the staff were extremely friendly.The fact that you get free parking is a welcome bonus.Hawkshead is a charming Lakeland village,with some interesting,little shops.We shall definitely be making a return visit soon.

Reviewer:L | Thu 22nd Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


very enjoyable visit - Rating 4/5

We spent a very enjoyable night at the Sun Inn.The room was lovely,and the beds very comfortable.The breakfast was amazing and the staff were extremely friendly.The fact that you get free parking is a welcome bonus.Hawkshead is a charming Lakeland village,with some interesting,little shops.We shall definitely be making a return visit soon.

Reviewer:L | Thu 22nd Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed a lovely overnight stay in early March. Lovely rooms, great evening meal and a warm welcome form the fabulous staff. Thank you

Response

Thank you Elizabeth for your lovely review! I will pass on your lovely words to the staff and chefs! Thank you

Reviewer:Elizabeth T | Wed 7th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent Accommodation, fine food and great service - Rating 5/5

Highly recommend the Sun Inn at Hawkshead. Beautiful clean and comfy rooms, with an excellent breakfast. Had our evening meal at the Sun Inn too, wow! Absolutely superb! Staff all very friendly and happy to help with all aspects of our stay.

Reviewer:Tracy P | Mon 5th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Verywelcoming - Rating 5/5

Friendly helpful staff, comfortable room and an excellent breakfast. Great value for money.

Reviewer:allan h | Mon 5th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Gret place to stay - Rating 5/5

Perfect location friendley helpull staff.Enjoyed our stay immensly.Thank you

Reviewer:Sara C | Fri 2nd Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Enjoyable! - Rating 5/5

The room had loads of old charm character, was clean and very compact but contained everything you need for a few nights stay. Quirky steps, creaking floors and single glazed windows all add to the fun.Food excellent, staff friendly and helpful.Enjoyed our two night stay.Good value for money.

Reviewer:Jane M | Tue 27th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at the Sun Inn. Very friendly, helpful staff. Cosy, immaculate room. Quaint. Very enjoyable breakfast and evening meal. Many thanks

Response

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your kind words and we hope to welcome you back for another stay.

Reviewer:Karen F | Fri 16th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


71 not 21 - Rating 4/5

A lovely stay, room had challenging headroom at times but was well appointed and clean. Food was excellent, staff were on the ball and very friendly.

Response

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully we can welcome you again for another stay. Many thanks

Reviewer:Fred A | Sat 10th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Recommend the Sun Inn - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at The Sun Inn before and would recommend. Lovely pub with lovely atmosphere &staff very helpful. Clean throughout. Would recommend booking a table as food excellent too. Live music on a Friday night. Definitely be back.

Response

Thank you for your lovely review! We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay. If you visit our website or social media pages we have the line up for live music throughout the year.

Reviewer:j f | Tue 6th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Everything was superb.Courteous staff;lovely room and super shower;very comfy bed;excellent food.Will look forward to another stay.Thank you

Response

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back

Reviewer:S | Thu 1st Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Would recommend staying here - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our stay at the Sun Inn. A lovely quaint Inn and village with a warm welcome and good food. Nothing was too much trouble and we were warm and cosy despite the inclement weather. Would definately recommend.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back

Reviewer:C | Wed 17th Jan 2018 | 1 year ago


wonderful - Rating 5/5

we stayed for a weekend here and loved every second.the room was warm and clean and the bed was so comfy with lovely linen. staff really friendly and evening meal fab, we had fish and chips.would def stay again. fantastic place to base yourself for the lakes.

Response

Thank you so much for your kind words. We will pass on your kind words to the staff and kitchen staff. We hope to welcome you back for another stay

Reviewer:Maggie R | Mon 8th Jan 2018 | 1 year ago


thank you - Rating 5/5

we enjoyed our stay immensley,you have a special pub in a special location,and you do it well!

Reviewer:Laurence P | Sat 16th Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


overnight stay - Rating 5/5

excellent stay, old world charm, excellent food and staff. Will be back

Reviewer:Colin M | Fri 8th Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


First class - Rating 5/5

Fabulous stay. Beautiful village, lovely hosts and the Sun Inn is a great base to see the Lakes. The Inn itself was top notch with quaint bedroom full of character. The food was to die for and we will definitely be returning.

Reviewer:G | Mon 4th Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Great stay- Rating 5/5

Had a lovely time at the sun inn.Warm and welcoming. Quirky, comfortable bedroom.Friendly staff.Good food. Had a table by the open fire for our evening meal. Would definitely love to stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs O | Sat 2nd Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Class - Rating 5/5

Quient,chic and quality.Food a1 staff spot on.Many thanks

Reviewer:H | Sat 2nd Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Book it - Rating 5/5

Proper place to unwind,with stunning scenery,and world class food.

Reviewer:Jonathan R | Sat 2nd Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely overnight stay at The Sun Inn.Right in rhe centre of Hawshead. Staff friendly. Would recommend eating there as the breakfast &evening meals were really good.

Reviewer:m m | Fri 24th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Good Review - Rating 5/5

A friendly and well run hotel

Reviewer:Lorraine L | Tue 21st Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Great little find - Rating 5/5

Food,service and accommodation all excellent.

Reviewer:Jane W | Mon 20th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

From checkin to checkout manager and staff made our stay fantastic. Dinner was exceptional not cheap but you get what you pay for. Breakfast tasty and plentiful. Free parking included. Stayed in four poster room. Not big but remember this is an old hotel full of character. Hope to stay here again.

Reviewer:H | Mon 20th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Great break away - Rating 5/5

Lovely and warming environment, friendly staff nothing was too much trouble. Lovely room all the amenities you need lovely views. Great food good evening menu, and breakfast overall ideal place to stay definitely recommended

Reviewer:Jeanette W | Thu 9th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Stay at The Sun Inn - Rating 5/5

Lovely room, comfy bed, nice restaurant, huge breakfast (perfect!), very welcoming staff.Would definitely stay there again.NB Car park (free to guests) very handy.

Reviewer:Kenneth B | Thu 12th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Nice old inn- Rating 5/5

Lovely old inn friendly staff great breakfast and evening meal. Recommended

Reviewer:Valeria D | Mon 9th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Sun inn- Rating 4/5

Very lovely inn, room small but fits with type of building and very clean, quiet location and staff very helpful, lovely hot breakfast served by very pleasant staff . Would stay again .

Reviewer:Sandra D | Fri 22nd Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Quaint and Homely- Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Sun Inn 18-20th August 2017. We found our stay to be very pleasurable, we booked a room with a four poster bed and it was lovely all the original features with natural stone walls etc, very welcoming and comfy. The staff are really nice and friendly and the breakfast and restaurant food was excellent. Cannot recommend highly enough, so much so that we have rebooked for a weekend in November!

Reviewer:Mrs. Janice R | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


The ideal base - Rating 5/5

We're frequent visitors to Hawkshead and The Sun Inn is the ideal place to stay if you're looking to do a bit of walking - so many walking routes straight from the village. The pub itself is full of character, the rooms are clean, tidy and comfortable. The menu has something for everyone and the quality of food is great. If you feel something isn't quite right, the staff are always there to help in any way they can. We've stayed during the busy summer months and out of season over the winter. It's an easy place to lose yourself and forget about what's going on in the world.

Reviewer:Wayne B | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Cozy Location - Rating 5/5

Very nice Location. Historic Building with small Rooms. Very friendly staff.

Reviewer:Thorsten T | Sun 20th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


A great Lakeland pub - Rating 5/5

The Sun Inn has lovely food, great beer, a large selection of gins and comfortable rooms. The people running the place work extremely hard and always seem to be on hand when needed. We've stayed before and again on this occasion found our room to be clean, tidy and comfortable. We ate in the bar both nights (joined by some friends) and all thoroughly enjoyed our tasty food and the selection of drinks. And....the cooked breakfast was perfect!! We hope to stay again as soon as possible.

Reviewer:Malcolm K | Tue 8th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Recent stay 3 nights - Rating 5/5

Extremely clean.Friendly staff.Lovely breakfasts and food.Excellent location.Be aware that the top floor room (no. 8) has sloping roof.Would definitely return and recommend.

Reviewer:Lesley P | Mon 31st Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


The Sun shines inn Hawkshead! - Rating 5/5

A couple of nights stay, comfortable, clean, friendly, excellent breakfast and dinner, great bar......what more do you want from a holiday stop-over?

Reviewer:Paul H | Thu 27th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Very comfortable and full of character - Rating 5/5

Staff excellent, very friendly and most obliging. The meals were also excellent, as good as we've had anywhere and better than most. The rooms were small and space was at a premium, but this just added to the charm of the place. We'd recommend this lovely hotel to anyone.

Reviewer:Anthony T | Fri 21st Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Mr P Buckley - Rating 5/5

Great place excellent pleasant staff everywhere clean and tidyThird visit will definitely return

Reviewer:Philip b | Sat 15th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Lilian & Ken Hunter - Rating 4/5

We had a very enjoyable stay The staff were very friendly and helpfulThe accommodation was clean and comfortableWe would not hesitate to return in the future

Reviewer:Lilian H | Fri 14th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent - Rating 4/5

Rooms are clean and well appointed. Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfasts were generous and well cooked. I would stay again.

Reviewer:Glyn R | Thu 13th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Fabulous stay in traditional Lakeland Inn - Rating 5/5

Lovely old Lakeland Inn. Good food both breakfast and evening meal. Good range of beers and fantastic range of Gin, very knowledgeable landlord matching the garnish and type of tonic to the chosen gin. All of the staff were friendly and gave great customer service. On check in the ypung lady took our car reg and informed us we didn't need to pay for parking in rhe nearby public car park as the Inn would settle the cost which was a bonus. The room we had was really nice, tastefully decorated and had exposed original beams and stone wall. The en suite shower room was immaculate and modern. We can definately recommend The Sun and intend to return.

Reviewer:jan s | Thu 13th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Our Stay at the Sun Inn - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sun Inn.The staff were very pleasant and couldn't do enough for us.As for the food - well, it was out of this world! It was wonderful.We are now home and trying to lose all the weight we put on!

Reviewer:Carole G | Sat 17th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Happy at Hawkshead - Rating 5/5

Warm and frienly staff and pleasant surroundings. We were upgraded to a four poster bed room on arrival. Would recommend staying here.Breakfast was tasty and sustantial. Thank you

Reviewer:David H | Sat 13th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Fantastic 2 day stay - Rating 5/5

Wonderful location and pretty village.The hotel and staff and management were perfect.Most importantly the food in the restaurant was absolutely wonderful.Being restaurant owners we know food and someone in the kitchen is going above and beyond. Keep up the good work

Reviewer:erwin a | Tue 9th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Friendly and helpful service, excellent food and everything we needed for a comfortable stay.

Reviewer:Ms. Dinah B | Sat 15th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Great stay in Hawkshead! - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Sun Inn for two nights to complete our challenge of walking all the Wainwright fells.Great pub, great service, very comfortable, and fabulous location in a lovely village!

Reviewer:Evita E | Tue 11th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Recent stay - Rating 5/5

Our stay was the same as allways "fantastic"Staff great, room really comfy,great food,And beer was flowing down smoothly,Alex our host was very attentive,and as usualA good freind, we love it here, kath, cliff.

Reviewer:Cliff I | Thu 6th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Birthday weekend! - Rating 4/5

This is the 2nd time we have stayed st The Sun Inn and enjoyed both times.Lovely little place to stay in nice staff and the manager Alex is very pleasant.Really nice brekfast and evening meal. Would definately recommend.

Reviewer:H | Thu 30th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Friendly staff, great rooms, delicious food and a lovely location.You may not find the rooms quite so lovely if you are tall - this is an old building with some low beams, but they have made good use of space in the top floor rooms in which we stayed.

Reviewer:Mrs. Karen B | Thu 30th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


Amazing food - Rating 5/5

We could not fault our stay as the rooms were upto date and clean plus the food was amazing, spacious between tables and everyone was pleasant/happy. To finish off, a lovely pint of Swann Blonde. We will def be staying here again

Reviewer:B | Wed 29th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


Lakeland Gem - Rating 5/5

We stopped 26th march 2017 for 2 nights and had a fabulous time. Alex and his team were wonderful, personable and Alex very knowledgeable of the area and real ales. The breakfast was fantastic, large and freshly prepared. We had both evening meals at the Sunn not due to some deal but for the quality. Fantastic fish and meat dishes e.g. Mussels, fish cakes, lamb shoulder etc.. gorgeous and good value. They have 4 real ales from local brewers which is great and a masive selection of Gins if that is your tipple. The location right in the centre of Hawkshead is ideal for the evening and we did the obligatory pub crawl. Parking is included in the main car park as well. The Inn backs onto the church and the daffodils were in full bloom giving a spectacular back drop. We will be back!

Reviewer:Turner| Wed 29th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


Overnight break - Rating 4/5

Very friendly &great accommodation &food. Good value for money

Reviewer:Sandra W | Tue 28th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


Enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful time at the sun inn, the room was very nice and the staff were all very friendly and helpful . Also the food was very good . I would highly recommend and would not hesitate to stay again in the future

Reviewer:Catherine W | Sun 26th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


A Brief Encounter - Rating 4/5

Pleasant,helpful staff along with good food and a comfortable clean room, made our short break very enjoyable.I would definitely return.

Reviewer:t | Sat 25th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


Lakes - Rating 4/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found everything satisfactory. Our only disappointment was we should have had our evening meal with you instead of a poor meal at the Queens Head! We would certainly stay with you again.

Reviewer:PLOWS ROGER| Sat 25th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


sun inn - Rating 5/5

very nice atmosphere food very good rooms very clean lovely selection of gins had a great stay go back any time.Thank youJohn Lambert

Reviewer:Lambert| Sat 25th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


Brilliant food - Rating 5/5

Ate at the hotel both nights of our stay and loved it. Comfortable warm room and a nice modern bathroom. Would stay again any time.

Reviewer:Miss. Rebecca B | Fri 24th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


2 night stay - Rating 4/5

Lovely 2 night stay in this quirky little place, friendly staff and clean rooms. We had food in the hotel both nights and it was gorgeous ! Fantastic gin menu too!Would def recommend and no doubt we will be back x

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs W | Wed 22nd Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


Night in hawkshead - Rating 4/5

Lovely stay breakfast was delicious

Reviewer:mill j | Tue 21st Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


Walking/fishing Weekend - Rating 5/5

Staff very friendly &helpful.Food very good - gin menu even better!!!Room comfortable.A visit recommended

Reviewer:MICHAEL M | Mon 20th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent meal- Rating 5/5

A warm welcome on a very rainy evening, comfy and very clean room, followed by an excellent meal.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Alexis M | Mon 20th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


Sun Inn - Rating 5/5

Beautiful village of Hawkshead.Brought friends for first visit.Hotel lovely, food fabulous

Reviewer:Mr. MOLLOY M | Sun 19th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


Great stay- Rating 5/5

Great value for money. Breakfast really good too, good ingredients and cooked fresh. Definitely would stay again!

Reviewer:E | Thu 16th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


LAKES HOSPITALITY AT ITS BEST - Rating 5/5

A pleasant three night stay in a comfortable Fourposter bedroom with clean bed linen, fresh towels and well kept en-suite. The welcome was warm and parking in Hawkshead was free for the duration of our stay.Breakfasts were more than adequate with a varied choice on offer to set you up well for the days walking.The evening offered an excellent choice and quality of food and local beers and extensive choice of Gins.The staff and management were very pleasant and attentive offering a high standard of service for a local inn.

Reviewer:JOHN S | Tue 14th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed a one night stay at the sun inn very friendly staff, comfortable room, amazing food and set in a most beautiful village what more can you ask for.. will definitely be returning in the near future thanks for a wonderful stay

Reviewer:Mrs. Angela f | Sun 12th Feb 2017 | 2 years ago


Stayed one night- Rating 4/5

Lovely clean hotel and great breakfast would definitely recommend also staff really friendly

Reviewer:Christine B | Tue 24th Jan 2017 | 2 years ago


Great little pub- Rating 5/5

Stayed a few times now, great little place to recharge batteries, clean tidy and friendly staff.

Reviewer:James M | Mon 9th Jan 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely stay! - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay at the Sun Inn!The food was delicios!Staff were very profesional and friendly. The young man in the Breakfast Room espeially.Room very pretty. The shower was excellent!

Reviewer:Butler| Mon 9th Jan 2017 | 2 years ago


Amazing - Rating 5/5

This hotel is perfect, ticks all of the boxes and great value for money.. the staff are friendly and welcoming and will do anything to help.The resteraunt and the food was lovely, real home cooked English food but there were other options on the menu, and the specials were changed daily.The hotel was very clean and tidy, and the pictures don't do it justice and show just how nice it is.The bedroom was lovely, nice and warm with the central heating on and a comfortable memory foam mattress, nice modern bathroom and walk in shower.. even had complimentary shampoo in the bathroom etcThere was plenty to do in and around the hotel and the shops and people are lovely.Overall this hotel was lovely and I would definitely recommend and stay again, it was great value for money and a lovely place.

Reviewer:F | Sat 7th Jan 2017 | 2 years ago


NewYear 2016 - Rating 5/5

This is the second year we've stayed for the New Year Break. Alex Vita and the team can't do enough to make you welcome. The rooms are comfortable and the Food is the best in Hawkshead. Would recommend to anyone. Special Mention also to Vika and Benji who are lovely.

Reviewer:M | Wed 4th Jan 2017 | 2 years ago


Trip to lakes- Rating 4/5

Nice clean place friendly staff food good

Reviewer:W | Sun 1st Jan 2017 | 2 years ago


Sun Inn Hawkshead- Rating 5/5

From the start the staff were very friendlythe room was very quaint and clean and the bed very comfortable The food is excellent and staff all work hard to make your stay enjoyable. Would certainly go back

Reviewer:S | Sat 31st Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Super chilled stay - Rating 5/5

As a family group of four adults wr had a lovely relaxing time.We had a beautiful meal in the restaurant and enjoyed a scrummy brekie. The vadt choice of gins also helped the mood. Staff were exceptionally friendly and professional. We would definitely recommend and stay again.

Reviewer:K | Fri 30th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Great stay - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed a great 2 night pre-Christmas break. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Lovely homely bar with great food. Fantastic breakfast. Will definitely be back!

Reviewer:B | Thu 22nd Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Christmas/Anniversary night away in hawkshead- Rating 5/5

This place is immaculate,very cosy,great staff and the food is amazing

Reviewer:L | Wed 21st Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Winter Lakes break- Rating 5/5

Lovely Hotel , and StaffWarm welcome , great food and serviceWarm and Friendly , nice 4 poster bed room 2Hearty Breakfast to start the dayThank you

Reviewer:Adrian W | Mon 19th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Comfy stay with good food in bar and restaurant - Rating 4/5

Lovely stay at the Sun Inn- snug room with lovely en-suite and shower. Resataurant and bar serving great local beers, extensive gin list and great meals ( slow cooked lamb shoulder ..mmmm yummy !) The village of Hawkshead is superbly quaint - esp. at Christmas time and a great base for south lakes area.

Reviewer:Rodney C | Sat 17th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Pre Christmas Break - Rating 5/5

We arrived for our pre Christmas getaway and as usual the stay was perfect. I can't praise the staff enough and the room was just what we needed - comfortable, clean and the food in the restaurant was excellent. Looking forward to the next visit.

Reviewer:Steve W | Thu 15th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Shorf break - Rating 5/5

Great short break at the Sun where the staff were pleasant and attentive and food great particularly the breakfast. We will be back . Many thanks.

Reviewer:K | Mon 12th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


A very warm welcome - Rating 5/5

I've been to Hawkshead many times but for some unknown reason had not been in this pub before. Anyway, I decided to book us in for the night this time, the first thing to mention is the exceptionally warm welcome from the staff. Our room and en-suite were lovely, better than expected. We had a fabulous lunch of home made soup and a gorgeous chunky sandwich, didn't try the evening menu but breakfast was superb and a very tasteful dining room. We'll be back.

Reviewer:Karen H | Mon 12th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Relaxing Break- Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our 2 night break in Hawksheadthe food was really good, the room nice and warm the staff friendly.We would definitely visit the sun inn again.

Reviewer:Walsmsley| Wed 7th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Hawkshead Xmas Fair - Rating 4/5

we had a lovely stay at the Sun Inn. Room was clean and comfortable bed. Good breakfast to start the day.Friendly staff, nothing is too much trouble. Would recommend staying here.

Reviewer:Mrs. Gilian S | Wed 7th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


relaxing break - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our 2 night break in Hawksheadthe food was really good, the room nice and warm the staff friendly.We would definitely visit the sun inn again.

Reviewer:Walsmsley| Tue 6th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

Our stay was lovely. The accommodation was very comfortable. The food was delicious. The atmosphere was friendly and welcoming. All the staff were execptional in customer service and they could not do enough to make you feel welcome. Bonus was the singer on friday night and the 40 different gins - happy days!! Thank you

Reviewer:N | Sun 4th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Great Break - Rating 5/5

Staff so friendly, location amazing, room lovely a great break at such good value. Thanks everyone in the sun inn 👍😊

Reviewer:T | Mon 28th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


The Sun Inn great place to stay in Hawkshead - Rating 4/5

Lovely place to stay, pleasant staff, great food.Thanks very much for providing breakfast, even though we got times mixed up.Would recommend The Sun Inn.

Reviewer:D | Mon 28th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Warm Welcome - Rating 5/5

What a treasure! From the time we booked, to arriving, to departure, we were extremely well looked after.Very good room, excellent food and first class staff.Also, extremely good value (we were on a DBB arrangement).

Reviewer:MR & MRS J | Sun 27th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


sun hotel - Rating 5/5

great hotel staff were very helpfulgood location easy to get to all the sightswould give 9 out of10

Reviewer:Les H | Sat 26th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Room & Food - Rating 4/5

The room was comfortable and the food was excellent.Would recommend both

Reviewer:Mr and Mrs K | Fri 25th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Weekend Away - Rating 5/5

Nothing bad to say about the Sun Inn. My wife and I have often had drinks and food in here while camping in the summer and have seen the rooms on the literature and I said I would like to stay here one day so we did! The full English breakfast is the best I have had for a long, long time and the staff are very helpful. We had a four poster bed and it was fab!!

Reviewer:Mr. Scott T | Mon 21st Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Weekend Away - Rating 5/5

Nothing bad to say about the Sun Inn. My wife and I have often had drinks and food in here while camping in the summer and have seen the rooms on the literature and I said I would like to stay here one day so we did! The full English breakfast is the best I have had for a long, long time and the staff are very helpful. We had a four poster bed and it was fab!!

Reviewer:Mr. Scott T | Mon 21st Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Sun Inn stay- Rating 5/5

Excellent. We had two nights stay including a Friday night .Room was comfortable and clean. Staff where friendly and helpful.Good breakfast.Hawkshead is a Lovely village in the heart of the Lake district.

Reviewer:Mark S | Sun 20th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely 17th century Inn, well decorated, rooms lovely and comfortable, lovely en-suite bathroom.Very nice restaurant with good food at reasonable prices. Good choice of menu for breakfast. Very friendly staff.Would recommend the Sun Inn highly.

Reviewer:S | Fri 18th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


One night stay - Rating 4/5

Although we found the bed a bit uncomfortable, we enjoyed our stay.Staff where welcoming, friendly and attentive.Accommodation was spacious and well decorated and breakfast was excellent.Would recommend to others visiting Haweshead.

Reviewer:Angela B | Thu 17th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Just perfect- Rating 5/5

Stayed at the Sun Hotel for a short break and found a real treasure. Comfortable bed , fine food and lovely staff. Will definitely be staying again. Best hotel in Hawkshead.

Reviewer:Susan R | Wed 16th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent place to stay- Rating 5/5

We have stayed at the Sun Inn before and when visiting the lakes always try and book here. Hawkshead is beautiful and the Sun Inn is very welcoming. The rooms are very comfortable and modern and have everything you need. The food is excellent quality and all the staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make sure you have a lovely stay. We will be booking again on our next trip.

Reviewer:Nicola D | Mon 14th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


First Visit - Rating 4/5

We visited and stayed at The Sun Inn due to Mr Brooke having been bought 2 nights stay as a birthday present. The breakfast could not be bettered and the dinner menu varied. The specials were also interesting (we both chose the special main course on our 2nd evening and it was delightful). The whole staff were extremely willing to help with anything and were a credit. Our room was quaint, on the small side, but had all essentials. The bed was very comfortable. Would recommend and certainly stay there again.

Reviewer:B | Fri 11th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Sun Inn - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed an excellent break at the Sun Inn during early November. The staff were extremely helpful and attentive.The room was very comfortable with tea/coffee making facility. We enjoyed the breakfast and restaurant food and found the location to be very convenient for exploring the area.

Reviewer:F | Fri 11th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Outstanding- Rating 5/5

Got there late on the Saturday checked in co op one minute away for all your needs an the room was perfect all u think the lakes would be.Breakfast was brilliant and evening restaurant was amazing food defiantly recommend will defiantly return 👍🏼

Reviewer:m | Tue 8th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Fantastic little find - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed our stay here. Lovely hotel, really nice, clean and modern rooms. Staff very friendly and always ready to help. Beautiful picturesque village full of history. Would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Mrs. Linsy B | Sun 30th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Super stay! - Rating 5/5

Our stay at the Sun Inn was fantastic. A really comfortable stay in a beautiful room. Service A1 and an amazing breakfast. Will definitely return for another stay.Thanks

Reviewer:R | Sat 29th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


One of my favourites - Rating 5/5

Lovely pub, gorgeous food, excellent friendly staff, cosy individual rooms and excellent value for money. All set in ideal location for walking, sigtseeing or completing the 4 x Hawkshead good pub crawl! Not forgetting one of the best cooked breakfasts we have had!

Reviewer:Mrs. JULIE F | Thu 31st Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


A lovely time - Rating 5/5

Lovely atmosphere, professional and friendly staff. Room clean and comfortable and food amazing. Will stay again

Reviewer:Mrs. karen p | Thu 31st Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


Nice break - Rating 5/5

Friendly staff great food n beer

Reviewer:Ian T | Tue 22nd Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


mrs Gillian rycroft. - Rating 5/5

we had a fantastic stay at the sun inn. Alex the host was great. The food and our room we just couldn't fault it. we ill defo be staying at the Sun Inn in the very near future.

Reviewer:GILLIAN R | Mon 14th Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely Pub - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay at The Sun Inn on Sunday 6th Dec. It was a pretty eventful journey to get there driving through flooded roads passing loads of stranded cars from the day before. But we were given a lovely warm welcome by the girls on reception and shown to our lovely quaint room . After a couple of hours taking in the delights of Hawkshead Xmas Festival ( lovely pubs and markets etc) we went back to the Sun for a few drinks and an excellent Evening meal. Will definitely be going back there next year

Reviewer:Paul M | Thu 10th Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


weekend break - Rating 5/5

Nice stay at the Sun inn, food very nice, staff polite.would stay again

Reviewer:Tracy K | Sun 6th Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


Great time - Rating 5/5

Had a week at The Sun Inn, cant fault it at all, staff were very friendly and helpful, meals were very nice indeed. Room was spacious and well kept, learned to duck after the first contact with a low beam. would certainly go back and recommend it to anyone. Thank you for the great time .

Reviewer:Mr. Richard M | Mon 30th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


our stay in the sun inn - Rating 5/5

as always good clean rooms, great choice of breakfast, and very friendly staff,this was our 6th year stay here, and will be back for many more years to come.

Reviewer:C | Sat 14th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


A return to my roots - Rating 5/5

A very warm welcome, helpful, efficient and friendly staff. The room was comfortable and the food was very good.

Reviewer:Mr. Melvyn T | Thu 12th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Great weekend - Rating 5/5

Just returned from a three night stay at the sun inn, every aspect of the break was first class the food, drink, room and friendly staff and locals all made our time here very enjoyable couldn't fault anything, stayed here before ,will stay again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quality hotel for a break in the Lake District

Reviewer:Mr. Michael E | Tue 10th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


The Sun Inn - Rating 4/5

It poured all the time we were in Hawkeshead but the staff at the Sun Inn were friendly, efficient and helpful and made our stay enjoyable.We had dinner at the hotel and it was very good.I will certainly return when the weather is less wet.

Reviewer:Patricia R | Tue 10th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent accommodation - Rating 5/5

Our second stay at the Sun Inn. Excellent accommodation - authentic Lake District;food is first class. Good beer and quality live music on Thursday night - what more could you want.

Reviewer:B | Sat 31st Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Great location,breakast,dinner and staff -Thank you for a good stay

Reviewer:Nigel M | Mon 10th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent! Love Sasha the dog

Reviewer:Miss. Lucy H | Mon 3rd Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Fab weekend - Rating 5/5

We stayed at The Sun Inn last weekend and had a great time. The food, accommodation, location and service were all excellent. We will certainly recommend this place.

Reviewer:P | Fri 3rd Jul 2015 | 4 years ago


Great break! - Rating 5/5

Base for a few days walking/photography. Great food and ale, a warm welcome and a nice clean comfortable room. Excellent!

Reviewer:Ian M | Tue 30th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

As we approached the village we fell in love with the place so we went to check in and we were immediately impressed with the look and the cleanliness of it to got shown to our room up the rickety but charming staircase went in and the room was superbly decorated and also spotless we ate out that evening but came down the next morning to a lovely English breakfast served by the very friendly staff we ate at the Sun the following evening and we weren't disappointed we both had the Fish &Chips yum overall i must say i love the place would deffo return and would recommend in an instant

Reviewer:Mike A | Sat 27th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


The Sun Inn, Hawkshead - Amazing...! - Rating 5/5

Absolutely fabulous stay at The Sun.Beautiful rooms, fantastic food and great company.As regular visitors to the village, this was our first stay at The Sun, but will definitely not be our last.Can't rate it highly enough.

Reviewer:Yvette C | Tue 23rd Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Friendly hotel in great location - Rating 4/5

Good friendly , well located hotel. Nice comfortable rooms and good well presented breakfast

Reviewer:Geoff B | Wed 17th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


weekend break mountain biking - Rating 5/5

Food was excellent, rooms were clean and the staff really friendly, hotel ideal for walking and biking

Reviewer:Phil J | Mon 15th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Sun Inn, Hawkshead, Cumbria - Rating 4/5

Lovely and helpful staff.Simple but clean and comfortable room with clean, modern facilities.Central and convenient for visiting Lake District and village.Off the main road so quiet at night.

Reviewer:B | Thu 11th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Long weekend in old coaching inn - Rating 4/5

Very friendly helpful staff. A good location for village centre &local walks. Very individual old inn with lots of character. Hearty, tasty breakfast. Free parking in nearby car park.

Reviewer:Anne H | Tue 9th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Our Challange Rest Camp - Rating 4/5

A group of us stayed at the Sun Inn whilst completing a charity challenge in Coniston. The rooms were very comfortable and a welcome sight for our weary legs. The evening meal was great and the morning breakfast was excellent (especially the black pudding) There was also an excellent choice of real ales on offer which were all in top condition. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely use the Sun Inn again the next time we are staying in the area.

Reviewer:Nigel R | Mon 8th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Proper pub - Rating 4/5

Proper pub with very good food and live music. The lamb joint was particularly tasty.Room rather small with limited headroom but comfy bed. Very friendly staff we would stay there again.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark G | Fri 29th May 2015 | 4 years ago


May 2015 - Rating 4/5

Excellent friendly pub with good food and beer and great staff!!

Reviewer:Mr. Ian S | Mon 18th May 2015 | 4 years ago


very happy stay at the Sun - Rating 5/5

We loved our room and slept very well that night.The food next morning was wonderful.we didn't expect such a local selection of food.Throughout our stay the staff were very attentive and helpful.

Reviewer:Ian B | Wed 8th Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


Very much recommended. - Rating 5/5

This was our second stay at the Sun Inn so we already knew what to expect and I'm pleased to day that we weren't let down.Alex and his staff give a very warm and heartfelt welcome. Alex is very hands on and goes out of his way to make your stay the best that it can be. The rooms are very tastefully decorated with a modern twist, very clean and the beds are turned down each day with fresh towels provided.We stayed for 4 nights on this occasion and wecan't fault the service that was given. But If I'm being honest the service and the hospitality weren't the bit that we went back for.....it was the food. The food is excellent for a pub. There a good selection, it was all perfectly cooked, presented well and tasted fantastic. We always use Hawkshead as our base...and we're already planning our next stay at the Sun Inn. Top drawer!!

Reviewer:Andrew P | Tue 7th Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


Lovely Stay! - Rating 5/5

We came to the Sun Inn for the Easter weekend as we were doing some walking in the Lakes. It's a lovely pub, obviously very popular as every evening it was packed. The staff are great, really friendly and helpful. We had a decent sized room, very clean and a comfy bed - just what you need after a long day walking! One of the best things, however, is the excellent food! We ate in the restaurant every evening and enjoyed a range of things on the menu, including some of the specials. The staff were lovely and we couldn't fault the food. It ranks amongst some of the best Lakes pub food we have enjoyed. A thoroughly enjoyable stay and thoroughly recommended. Look forward to our next visit!

Reviewer:Joanne A | Tue 7th Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


excellent - Rating 5/5

Spent 2 days here.What a lovely surprise when we saw our room.So quaint and plenty of character as had the whole place.Greeted with friendly staff and taken to our room by her.Breakfast was plentiful and cooked perfectly.We had a drink in the bar and it had a nice log fire.Unfortunately we did not have a meal but seeing other guests dining, the meals looked lovely and good portions.Rooms clean and tastefully decorated.The bathroom perfect size, clean and modern.Would recommend the Sun Inn to anyone, you will not be disappointed.

Reviewer:T | Wed 25th Mar 2015 | 4 years ago


Would Recommend - Rating 5/5

Excellent location. Hawkshead is beautiful with outstanding scenery.The staff were very friendly and helpful.Food was excellent.Room was quirky and clean.Would definitely stay here again :)

Reviewer:Janet C | Mon 23rd Mar 2015 | 4 years ago


The sun inn review - Rating 4/5

Very enjoyable with comfortable bed and the room was spotlessFound the staff to be very helpfullyWell done to all

Reviewer:L | Sun 22nd Mar 2015 | 4 years ago


Lovely stay in friendly, cosy inn - Rating 5/5

Very friendly staff, cosy, quirky room, tremendous cooked breakfast!

Reviewer:YVONNE G | Tue 17th Mar 2015 | 4 years ago


Square D Social Club - Rating 5/5

Great warm friendly hospitality, food is excellent. Live Entertainment on Friday night was superb.

Reviewer:Graham H | Mon 16th Mar 2015 | 4 years ago


The ideal location - Rating 5/5

This was the second time we had stayed at the Sun Inn. A mixture of great food, characterful accommodation and the welcoming locals, made this an ideal place to stay.We are frequent visitors to the Lake District and always manage to pick decent accommodation. Whenever we are in the Hawkshead area of the Lakes, as long as there's space, we'll be coming back to the Sun Inn.

Reviewer:Wayne B | Tue 10th Mar 2015 | 4 years ago


Nice stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely inn, couldn't fault the staff, extremely friendly and helpful, breakfast was excellent, we didn't eat there in the evening so couldn't comment on the evening meal. It was an excellent stay and would recommend it !!

Reviewer:Andy B | Thu 5th Mar 2015 | 4 years ago


Dad\'s birthday - Rating 5/5

We stayed here for a family occasion. Four adults and 2 children. We could not have chosen a better place, from the lovely rooms, the staff and the fabulous food. We will definitely be back. Thank you to Alex and all the staff for making our stay a memorable one.

Reviewer:C | Tue 3rd Mar 2015 | 4 years ago


Dad\'s birthday - Rating 5/5

We stayed here for a family occasion and had an absolutely fabulous time. We could not have chosen a better place,from the lovely rooms, the friendly staff and delicious food. We will definitely be back. Thank you to Alex and all of the staff for making our stay a memorable one.

Reviewer:C | Tue 3rd Mar 2015 | 4 years ago


Lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

Just arrived back from one night at the Sun Inn in Hawkshead, one night wasn't enough, it was the best nights sleep I have has in a strange bed ever, no noise from other guests, or from outside. The food was excellent, we ate in the bar but the restaurant would be lovely if it was for something special, the breakfast was also excellent made to order, hot, and tasty. Would certainly go back again, to sample some more food, the lamb was 😃😃😃😃😃

Reviewer:W | Mon 23rd Feb 2015 | 4 years ago


Excellent establishment! - Rating 5/5

An absolutely all round excellent place. The rooms were cozy, clean and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was modern and the little quirk of the two heights for the shower head was greatly appreciated. The evening menu was diverse and the food (my partner and I both had the burgers) was delicious.Couldn't fault it and we would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Ella G | Tue 17th Feb 2015 | 4 years ago


Hidden Gem! - Rating 5/5

Travelled as a group of 4 adults to Hawkeshead and stayed at The Sun Inn as a treat for my sisters birthday.. Our rooms were up in the converted attic space and were very quaint and quirky and very neat and clean. Our welcome on arrival was very warm and friendly, all of the staff we met during our 2 night stay were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.Lovely breakfasts and our evening meal we had on the first night was wonderful.I would definitely recommend The Sun as a place to stay in this beautiful little village.Look out for the managers lovely, lovely dog Sasha, she likes to watch the TV!!

Reviewer:B | Sat 14th Feb 2015 | 4 years ago


Great hotel ! - Rating 5/5

The outside needs a lick of paint -so what ? What you get inside from the quaint sloping ceilings (well it is a 17th century building) to the warm welcome and attentive service soon makes you forget about that. The staff really are an asset. We ate there and the meal was fabulous, we drank there and the atmosphere was fabulous. The locals were really friendly. Breakfast was great. Free parking a welcome bonus. Seriously, we had a great time because we were made so welcome, and isn't that what it's all about . The ferry to Windemere is just down the road -2minutes across the lake, making it an ideal base for days out. The village itself is wonderful, having somewhere nice to stay enhanced the experience.

Response

Thank you so much for the kind words, much appreciated. As to the paint outside- you are absolutely right, we are just waiting for weather conditions to improve which, as you already know, in the Lakes is an absolute mystery. Hopefully we\'ll take your breath away with our outside looks next time you visit.

Reviewer:Mr. Leslie P | Sun 25th Jan 2015 | 4 years ago


4.7
Very Good

224 reviews

5
72%
4
28%
3
0%
2
0%
1
0%